The Federal Republic of Nigeria

The official name of Nigeria is the Federal Republic of Nigeria. But the country is usually called Nigeria. The country borders with Niger and Chad in the north, the Atlantic Ocean in the south, Republic of Benin in the west, Cameroon in the east. Nigeria is a federal republic in West Africa and democratic secular country. The Federal Republic of Nigeria includes 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory with the capital in Abuja. Nigeria was became independent on October the 1st , 1960. A new constitution established a federal system with an elected prime minister and a ceremonial head of state. On October the 1st, 1963, Nigeria became a federal republic.